top of page
  • Writer's pictureCecile Bianco

The fox life is unfair

It wasn’t fair. I did not ask for this.

I am in a cage and I have been all my life. I am tended to by people I hate. I hate them because I am filled with hate. I hate them because they made me to be filled with hate. On the other side of this enclosure are the elect. Their lives are filled with love. They love their caretakers and are loved and get treats and cuddles.

My great grandfather and his brother were free and ran around outside. They ate what they wanted and did what they wanted. They had families and some of the cubs lived and died according to nature’s precepts. It was cold in Siberia but they survived. But then they were caught by the humans. And this was the unfairness of it. My grandfather was more shy and stayed in the back of his cage. He growled a little when they put the food down. It wasn’t that bad. His brother was more active in his cage and didn’t growl.

By the mating process they separated the two genetically. My grandfather’s progeny became aggressive and his brother’s became docile and loving. The humans said this was caused by increases or decreases in the adrenal glands.

So here I am as a science experiment. I did not ask for this.


One day, it all changed. I could hear the humans say “This is not humane.” Someone came to my cage. I barked ferociously and tried to bite. They gave me some liver, yum. I enjoyed my liver.

“Hello, young man”, said a voice. “Don’t worry, I won’t hurt you,” I lunged and tried to bite. I was so afraid. He reached down to my cage with a big leather hand. I bit it over and over, but had no result. My teeth could not penetrate it. I went into another cage and into a van. It was long and boring and the water given to me did not last long enough.

Finally, it was over and the hand reached out to me. I did not bite since that was useless. I was put into a large enclosure with my water bowl and food bowl. It was calm and peaceful and the wind blew in the grasses. I could smell wonderful things I never smelled before. It was the best I have ever lived. The humans did not bother me there. I was alone with other foxes. Later I realized that the humans refilled the water and food when we were asleep so they did not disturb us. We were happy at last. During the night when I am awake, I read and do crossword puzzles. I know I am not a people person and that’s ok.


5 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

He was a man

This story is about a Christmas nativity set. A mother is saddened when vandals attack the family’s ceramic nativity set. Her son Gianni, decides to be a man and save the day. San Francisco, 1980s Gi

Deliverance

They were a brother and sister living in Deliverance, Dakota Territory. It was 1890. They were a brother and sister 16 and 14. The nearest city was Sioux Falls. They would sit holding hands on the

A story of a fish

It was a red tinted glass fish. It was about a foot and a half long. There was also a green fish that was smaller. My roommate decided they had to go on the table next to me. The one I was working

bottom of page